for Tuba and Symphonic Band, Piano reduction version

by Amparo Edo Biol

“Concerto for Tuba and Symphonic Band inspired by three fundational geometric figures. The first movement, Cube, is based in groups of four, and equal square presences. The second movement, Sphere, is based on the circle of fifths and round shapes. The third movement, Pyramid, is based on groups of three and triangular pitch shapes.”

Dedicated to Javier Edo Mañó.

Commissioned by Asociación Española de Tubas y Bombardinos for the Festival AETyB 2016.

Winner of the International Women Brass Conference Composition Competition 2019.

This is the Piano reduction version. Full Symphonic Band version also available.

I. Cube
II. Sphere
III. Pyramid

Duration: 14 minutes

Year of composition: 2016

Difficulty: 4.5


Solo Tuba

Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes (2nd doubles on English Horn), 2 Bassoons

Eb Clarinet, 2 Soli Bb Clarinets, 3 Bb Clarinetes, Bass Clarinet

2 Alto Saxes, 2 Tenor Saxes, Baritone Sax

4 Horns, 4 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, 1 Bass Trombone, Flugelhorn, Euphonium, Tuba

Timpani, 4 Percussion, Violoncello (opt.), Double Bass (opt.)

Buy a digital copy of Foundations for Solo Tuba and Symphonic Band, Piano Reduction version. It includes the solo tuba part and a piano reduction.